Frame-O Change-O

Just a quick update on the power of paint. I made the decision a while back that the oak frame (kinda looked 90′s ish) on my sleeping bear picture needed to be modernized with solid color. I was leaning for just black or white (yes, I realize that neither black or white are regarded as colors in many circles, however as far as I care/know they are colors).  I went with black, as I am currently out of white or off white in small craft paint. FYI if I paint a frame and I don’t spray paint it, I prefer to use small squeeze bottles of craft paint, largely because they are about a buck.

This beautiful cabinet was one my Mom did for me. It was an ugly 1980's display cabinet, until she got her skills on it. I have every intention to get better photos of it and a tutorial on how to, once my Mom isn't so darn busy. Oh, but this post is about a quick frame change, see the oak frame on the top.

 

And see it now? Way better.

I love this print. It is from The Legend of Sleeping Bear, a wonderful children’s story.

The story goes like this…

“Long ago a great famine had spread over the land. Longingly, a mother bear and two famished cubs walked the shore on the Wisconsin side, gazing wistfully across the great lake at Michigan, which in those days was the land of plenty (as it is today). Finally hunger overcame their timidness and the bears launched out, trying to swim to Michigan. As they got closer and closer to the Michigan shore, the mother’s words of encouragement urged on the weary cubs. When only twelve miles from the land of plenty, the mother’s heart was rent as she saw a babe sink and drown. With the remaining cub she struggled to gain the beach. Two miles of slow dragging and the second of her beloved cubs also perished.

The mother reached the beach, alone, and crept to a resting place where she lay down facing the restless waters that covered her lost ones. As she gazed, two beautiful islands slowly rose to mark the graves of the cubs. The Great Spirit Manitou created two islands (North and South Manitou Islands) to mark the spot where the cubs disappeared and then created a solitary dune to represent the faithful mother bear.” SOURCE

Yes, I know this story is incredibly sad, but it is also beautiful as the mother then waited for her cubs and  became the dunes of Sleeping Bear Dunes which is now The Most Beautiful Place in America, says Good Morning America.

Oh, and I haven’t given up…


Today’s challenge, Dressy & Casual.

Gingham & Pearls

Oh and this gingham blouse is my re-mix item. Which because I didn't start on day one, I wasn't going to do. But like most things I changed my mind.

Do you also paint every frame you have, just because?

Want to check out the other 21 Day Challenge-ers dressy & casual looks?

 

About kyle

I am a girl, first off. Having the first name of Kyle often makes people expect to meet an 18 year old frat boy or football player of some type. But in reality I am a 27 year old girl, a working proffesional, a nature enthusiast, a collector, a cat lover and a Martha Stewart Fan. View all posts by kyle

4 responses to “Frame-O Change-O

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

