Another Chalkboard Project -unfinished for now

I have a perfect frame for over the bed in the guest bedroom… by perfect I mean it was free, the wood frame was the right color for the room and it was a substantial size (size does matter). Perfect with one exception, I didn’t know what I wanted to frame. Everything I thought of seemed so boring, busy or was just icky (that is a real design word). So as much as I searched Pinterest (check out my pin’s here) I just couldn’t get creative. That is until I took another look at what was over the bed.

Imagine

IMAGINE.

A word that has hung in every one of my spaces for over 7 years. Usually this word was nestled in with pictures , hung above a cabinet or leaned on the wall above cupboards. But right now it was all by itself above the bed and actually it is kinda boring. The word imagine should conger up ideas and fantasizes not be boring. But it is perfect above the bed… hmm what to go with it. Then I realized John Lennon’s Imagine is one of my favorite songs, and one of many reasons I love the word so much, I also loved its price tag at Value City (who wouldn’t shop for design accents at a store named Value City) it was $8.99, I know because the price tag is still on it, kinda like Sherry of Young House Love (check out her problem here).

I love IMAGINE! Watch the video here.

So I painted right on the glass with Rustoleum Chalk Board Paint, I had leftover (from this project) and then I am going to write out the chorus to Imagine. When everything is dry, which will hopefully be soon. I will just have John help me hang it above Imagine, so it looks like this idea was meant to happen. Don’t worry I will post pictures once it’s up there.

Oh, and as long as we’re in the guest bedroom… Here are a few pics of how cute it is in there, you’d think we were having guests over for the weekend. Oh, wait. WE ARE!  John’s Mom, Linda, and her sister, Aunt Diane, are coming to stay-antique-shop-eat-drink wine-beach and Grand Haven it up with us until Sunday.

Blue and green guest bedroom

Don't you love these felt pillows my Mom made for me. They go great in the guest bedroom.

Green and blue, this great little green cabinet was a gift from both of my parents. The antique window is an original from their farm-house.

Love the antique dresser from John's family. It is one of a kind and beautiful. Notice anything typical? Oh, an heirloom white giraffe and her baby.

Yup these guys were brass before, but I love to spray paint and now they are so sweet.

Do you love Imagine, does the song just make you oh I don’t know, Imagine?  Do you quick add style to rooms a few hours before house guests arrive? Are you frantically cleaning not because your house is dirty but because you can’t imagine not cleaning right before a guest arrives? Are your ready to have some fun this weekend or what? Ugh, this was a long week.

About kyle

I am a girl, first off. Having the first name of Kyle often makes people expect to meet an 18 year old frat boy or football player of some type. But in reality I am a 27 year old girl, a working proffesional, a nature enthusiast, a collector, a cat lover and a Martha Stewart Fan. View all posts by kyle

One response to “Another Chalkboard Project -unfinished for now

What do you think?

